top of page

Look at the work of Heather Angel and taking inspiration


Heather Angel is a British nature photographer whose macro work in particular, is one I have found to be great inspiration for my everyday objects theme.

This is an example of Angel's work in which she has photographed the eye of an unknown creature. What I like most about the fact Angel has used a macro technique for this is that fact that we are able to see the creature in such great detail. The ridges and patterns around the eye are features that may not be easily visible from the human eye. Notably, she hasn't just pictured something out of the blue, she has captured something magnificent and the details of the creature's pupil reinforce this point.

This is another example of Angel's work in which she has photographed the inside of a Kiwi. Like the example above, this piece allows us to see parts of an object in which we may not see from the naked eye. For example, from unassisted vision we are able to see the seeds of a Kiwi however using this macro technique allows us to see a further load of seeds underneath the top layer. We are also able to see the water on the green parts of the Kiwi which presents quite a moist and fresh feel.

In terms of using Angel's work as inspiration, I went around my house and looked for everyday objects that may have a similar effect. With this I found one of the new £5 notes which contains an image of Winston Churchill. Using a macro camera, I captured the eye of Churchill and I believe it's a really successful piece. The eye is looking directly at the audience which is great for drawing people in and using a iconic figure such s Churchill helps this. The close up allows us to see the little blue spots on the note that are barely visible to the human eye therefore the image shows us elements people may have never known were actually there. I believe creating such a dramatic style piece with a money note backs up my original intentions in that I am aiming to show importance within objects used for everyday use.

This is another example of one of my pieces in which I have taken a close up image of a toothbrush. What I found quite amusing about this was that I asked five people what the object was, and not one could recognise it as a toothbrush. This would suggest that the amount of detail this image has gone into has made it unrecognisable despite everyone using one everyday. I added a light blue tint to the foreground of the brush which I believe has worked successfully. It gives it a fresh and hygienic feel which is something you would hope for when brushing your teeth.

Other images from shoot:

https://uk.pinterest.com/burdettolly/a2-photography-everyday-objects-macro/


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page