top of page

Shoot taking inspiration from clock 'work' research

After looking at other photographers work on clocks, it really inspired me to go out and take some myself.

This is an example of one of the edits I did from the shoot in which I pictured a clock hung up in my garden. The black and white edit has left a great contrast between the dark trees in the background and the white clock face. In terms of the composition, I like how the clock is canted to sort of give a mysterious feel however I would've preferred if the top left corner included the full corner of the decking rather than it being just cut off which I believe gives a less professional look.

This is another example of one of my edits from the shoot which shows that time can be displayed through electricity rather than a 'typical clock'. Instead of adding the black and white effect, I instead chose to add a red tint which I believe gives the image a electric and warm feel, especially considering the digits are shown on an oven. I quite like the composition on this image as the reflection of the glass allows us to see into a different room of the house and I believe this gives the image a more homely feel.

Out of the edits I did, I believe this is the best one. What I noticed when editing it was that the hour hand was pointing towards the camera and therefore is great in terms of the line forms. The black and white effect gives the image quite a mysterious and spooky feel especially with the historic nature of the clock. The roman numerals along with the more modernised numerals are just two of the elements the image goes into great detail with.

More images from shoot: https://uk.pinterest.com/burdettolly/a2-photography-everday-objects-clockwork/


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page